General Conference Musings

 

YSA35

 

October 2, 2017

This was a great General Conference, the third one on my mission. Recently I’ve found that I learn a lot from conference, more than I did before my mission. I feel like sharing a few of the insights I had during General Conference.

There were two major things I was impressed by:

First was just the reason for loving service.  I was very impressed by President Erying’s talk when he was talk about the Mormon Helping Hands disaster relief efforts. It is hard for me to put into words exactly what I want to say. Basically I was think of how important it is that we help take care of the temporal (physical) needs of God’s children.  Our bodies are precious and so anything we can do to help save people’s lives is huge. I just feel like I want to serve people, and make people’s lives better.

The other thing that struck me was how important the Book of Mormon is.  I realized that the Book of Mormon is the gateway to testimony, and testimony is the foundation for everything.  When we know the Book of Mormon is true then we know that the Holy Bible is true, and that Joseph Smith was a prophet, and that we have a living prophet and living apostles, and that there is a God and he sent his son Jesus Christ to be our savior. But more than that I realized why we must use the Book of Mormon daily.  If we don’t feed our testimonies they will shrink, and possible even fade away.  But by reading the Book of Mormon every day, which is the great testimony builder of our dispensation, our testimonies will grow.

I believe that God expects us to use the Book of Mormon, he spent put a lot of diligent care into bringing the Book of Mormon forth in our day and age.  I believe that so many questions people ask in this day and age would be answered if they would just read the Book of Mormon. Reading the Book of Mormon might be a small task for us but behind that small task comes an exceptional amount of power.

It is an exciting time to be a missionary.

Regards from Elder Brown.

One thought on “General Conference Musings

  1. I agree. I love your insight on the conference. I am now married and living in Gilbert Arizona if you can believe that. I fell off my bike yesterday so I am flat on my back for recovery for few weeks. I love hearing from you I pray for you and wish you the best
    Take care

    Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPhone

    Like

Leave a comment