God Is Calling

 

YSA17

On an exchange with Elder Faroni

July 31, 2017

This has been an interesting week that taught me a lot about the power of hymns.  It all started with a zone conference we had this week [Zones are divisions within a mission. Zone Conferences are meetings of all the missionaries serving in the Zone and happen once every six month.]  One of President Allred’s best friends from Washington came to our conference and taught us some methods we could use to find more people.  Most of what he said was about how we needed the Holy Ghost with us at all times to be able to do anything. But one thing he said stuck with me, and that is how singing hymns (i.e. sacred music) invites the Spirit into basically any setting.

Since this conference, I have decided to put a bigger focus on using hymns in the work.  For daily planning and companion study we now sing hymns before we pray, it really brings us together (even if we are not the best of singers) and invites the Spirit.  We also try to have a hymn before we teach any lesson now, and we try to make it topical.  It seems to really help, and set us apart as servants as the Lord.

Also, hymns can help us calm down. This Sunday I felt myself beginning to get frustrated, but as we were driving, we were also listening to some hymns about Jesus Christ. As I started to sing along I felt my frustrations melt away. It just goes to show the power of hymns. Hymns are powerful and I encourage everybody to use them more in their lives.  It really brings the Holy Ghost.

And in case anybody is wondering my favorite Hymn is called “Israel, Israel, God is calling.”  I especially love the message it contains in the third verse:

Israel, angels are descending

From celestial worlds on high,

And to man their pow’r extending,

That the Saints may homeward fly.

Come to Zion, come to Zion,

For your coming Lord is nigh.

Come to Zion, come to Zion,

For your coming Lord is nigh.

For your listening pleasure, here is a link to the Mormon Tabernacle Choir singing this song:

As a missionary that is my message to the world. God is calling. He promises protection, eternal life, happiness in this life, eternal families, second chances, new beginnings, a better life, mastery of his world, knowledge, peace, and comfort. Do not delay, do not procrastinate, for the Lord comes very soon, on a day we don’t know.  Therefore, the only day you have for sure to get with the program is today.

I can promise that life inside Zion is better than life outside Zion. Yes the rain of affliction will fall on the just and unjust, but only in Zion does the Holy Ghost also pour out from heaven like rain, and only in Zion can sins be forgiven.  I know that this is the case because there have been times in my life where I’ve not been doing the right thing, and I felt terrible and wasn’t able to function. But when I corrected myself, repented of my sins, then I came to know God and what true joy is.

In the name of Jesus Christ.   Amen.

Regards from Elder Brown.

YSA19

The Cache Valley North and South Zones, with President and Sister Allred and the Assistants to the President. Can you spot me?

One thought on “God Is Calling

  1. soooo true, the hymns bring great comfort to me. I love them. I love singing them all the time as well. I’m so glad that you’re testimony of them has increased. Still hanging out on the home front helping to take care of Grandma, she’s in good hands.

    Like

Leave a Reply

