Farewell Fielding

 

fielding4

Saying farewell to Fielding, Utah. 

 

May 22, 2017

Farewell fielding

Today the roster came out, which means transfers are tomorrow.  (This is so much like opening your call letter).  And I got transferred to Providence South / Providence YSA!  Which means I am now a YSA missionary, which means I cover the entire Cache South Zone! [Editor’s Note: YSA stands for Young Single Adult. In our church we have specific congregations for young adults ages 18-30.]

Before leaving Fielding, I would like to share what I have learned over the past four and a half months I’ve spent here in Fielding.

First off, I have begun to learn about what leadership actually is.  The entire time I’ve been here in Fielding I have been the senior companion. And at first I thought that was a meaningless title, as both companions have to work, and both companions have to plan, and study, and teach, and so on and so forth.  But slowly I’ve begun to learn what my duties are as a senior companion, how I need to set the example, how I need to be teaching my companion, how I need to prepare us for studies.

I also learned the importance of working with members.  Those that were baptized during my ministry had great fellowshipping members far before we even got involved; while those who aren’t progressing don’t have much member support.

Fielding also taught me how to get the Ward and stake leaders involved.  I saw a great change take place in the area in terms of how the leadership worked with us missionaries.

Overall it was a huge learning experience for me. I’m glad I was able to come here and learn.   But I’m excited to try something new, and to go somewhere I’ve never been before.

(Psst.  My new area has a chick-fil-a, yay hooray!)

Regards from Elder Brown.

 

Leave a Reply

