Week One: At the MTC

I have loved reading all your emails, but I have also have been having a blast not having to think about you guys (just kidding).  My time here at the MTC has been great. I have learned so much about Missionary work and I had some great experiences.  While many of you wrote about seeing a member of the Seventy at church last Sunday; I am going to completely one-up you by telling you about how I got to see an Apostle.

Yep, that’s right. Elder Bednar, a member of the Twelve Apostles, came and gave a Q&A session to all of us. Before the Q&A session the entire MTC watched a talk Elder Bednar gave in 2008 at the MTC (and which can only be seen at the MTC).  That talk was amazing in of itself and gave me many insights about who Christ is.  But then he had to make it better by actually showing up to the MTC and letting us ask questions.  (Btw this is my second time seeing Elder Bednar).

Here is what I learned:

  • The Atonement could not have happened without Christ being entirely unselfish. In situations where we would turn in and be selfish Christ would turn out and be selfless.
  • A testimony is weak, next to the power of conversion. Testimony is knowing something is true, but conversion is living it.
  • Charity is less of an act, and more of a characteristic.
  • Isaiah is hard to understand and makes my brain hurt.

And much more than I could possibly write in this short amount of time.

I am glad that I got to see an Apostle of Jesus Christ and I’m glad I got to learn so much at the MTC, and I’m glad that there are so many great Elders and Sisters here.

Also my small world experience at the MTC this week: One of the Elders in my district is Elder Nelson who was one of the roommates in college of my cousin Trevor Brown.

One week down—one hundred and three to go.

One thought on “Week One: At the MTC

Leave a Reply

