Before I Depart

Well this is it, I guess.

I’m about to head out on my mission.  I’m about to leave behind many things: my hobbies and my home, as I depart.  But I’m not leaving behind my friends or my family.  I’ve met great people from my time here in North Carolina and I don’t want to lose them.  And so I’m writing this blog so that I can in some way keep in touch with my friends and family. 

This blog is going to be a collection of letters I will write to you while I’m on my mission.  I’m not sure how it will be structured yet, or what I will mainly write about; but I do hope you can get something out of this blog. 

To my friends from RTHS: You guys are amazing! You are some of the best people I’ve known in my life.  And I’m absolutely positive that all of you are confused by what I’m doing.  It’s really simple.  For two years I’m going to serve the Lord (Jesus Christ) on a mission to teach and help people, and to share the word of God.  And I know I’m not the most open about my religion, but I know that this is something that will make me, and others happy.  But just because I’m going to be gone for two  years doesn’t mean I don’t want to hear from you. Look for ways to contact me in the sidebar. 

I wish all of you the best of luck on whatever direction in life you choose. 

To finish up I would like to share with you why I have decided to go on a mission.  I grew up in this gospel and this might sound petty but I was always jealous of converts to our church.  Not because they got to do things I didn’t; but because they all have such strong testimonies of the gospel.  But I was born into this church, and as such I never felt like it was my choice, it was just a part of my life.  converts on the other hand must make a choice, and this choice that they make is powerful.  But something very personal to my family happened when I was about 13 years old.  And I learned that I have always had the power to choose, that thought has stuck with me ever since.

And because of the choices I’ve made in my life, I know the truth of the gospel and the saving power of the Jesus Christ.  And I know that I am called to serve and to teach and to aid the people of Logan Utah.

Leave a Reply

